Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

Turkey Vegetable Soup January 12, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 6:16 pm

The new recipe for tonight was turkey vegetable soup – or at least that is what it was supposed to be.  Like I mentioned in my last recipe, I generally make changes to the recipe and this time I made quite a few.  This ended up basically being a stew.  It was a little bland but for kids, bland is pretty good.  My favorite part of the soup was the cabbage – I really like cooked cabbage.  So here is the recipe and my changes are in blue.  FYI – I got this recipe off of the KOTV website.   ** Best part of this recipe, it is quick to assemble and then you leave it to cook.

Cabbage was on sale this week for $0.39 a pound which inspired me to cook this recipe.  The can of beans was $0.66 .  The rest I had on hand.  If you get a good deal on meat, this is a very inexpensive recipe. 

  • 1-pound ground turkey   Used 1 pound of deer stew meat (yes I said deer – can’t get better than free meat, thanks dad!!)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 16-ounce can whole tomatoes  I had a can of stewed tomatoes in the pantry so I used that instead
  • 1 8-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 15-ounce can red beans
  • ½ head cabbage, chopped
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 3 ribs celery, sliced  I did not use – the boys and I don’t like celery
  • Added 1 can of corn drained
  • 3 Tablespoons uncooked rice   I used about 5 tablespoons of brown instant rice – I added it about the last 20 minutes
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes  Since I used deer meat, I used beef bouillon cubes
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme  I also added a little bit of Italian seasoning
  • 4 cups water

Spray soup pot with nonstick vegetable spray. Sauté turkey and onion until turkey is cooked through and onion is transparent. Add the remaining ingredients. Mix well. Cook, covered, over low heat for an hour. Can be frozen.

 

2 Responses to “Turkey Vegetable Soup”

  1. Have you ever thought of adding more videos to your blog to keep the readers more entertained? I just read through the entire post and it was quite good but since I am more of a visual learner, I find videos to be very helpful. I like what you guys are always coming up with. Keep up the excellent work. I will visit your website regularly for some new post.


Leave a Reply

