Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

Chicken Tamale Casserole January 15, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 8:28 pm

I made one of my favorite dinners tonight – chicken tamale casserole.  I love it!!!  I could eat the whole casserole myself!  Again this is a quick and simple recipe.  The boys think the enchilada sauce is too hot so I leave it off of one corner and that section is for the boys.  I also split a cheese roll-up (whole wheat tortilla with melted cheese), a carrot with ranch dip, and an apple between the boys.  I insist on the boys getting veggies and fruit with their dinner 🙂  I clipped this recipe out of a Cooking Light magazine.  I was able to find it online at find.myrecipes.com.

Ingredients

  • 1  cup  (4 ounces) preshredded 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese, divided
  • 1/3  cup  fat-free milk
  • 1/4  cup  egg substitute I just use one egg
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cumin
  • 1/8  teaspoon  ground red pepper I don’t use – I am a wimp when it comes to hot stuff!
  • 1  (14 3/4-ounce) can cream-style corn
  • 1  (8.5-ounce) box corn muffin mix (such as Martha White) I use Jiffy
  • 1  (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained I don’t drain – there is a coupon for green chiles in one of my early posts
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce (such as Old El Paso) I get Old El Paso mild
  • 2  cups  shredded cooked chicken breast  I sprinkle with chili powder and salt once it is cooked
  • 1/2  cup  fat-free sour cream

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Combine 1/4 cup cheese and next 7 ingredients (through chiles) in a large bowl, stirring just until moist. Pour mixture into a 13 x 9–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.

3. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until set. Pierce entire surface liberally with a fork; pour enchilada sauce over top. Top with chicken; sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces; top each serving with 1 tablespoon sour cream.

 

Leave a Reply

