Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

Meat Tip January 21, 2010

Filed under: General — Detra @ 7:30 pm

Went to the store last night and found meat on sale.  I bought a 5 pound package of fresh chicken breasts, a whole chicken, and a 2 pound bag of Tilapia.  All things I use and all things I can stick in the freezer until I need them.  I do this all the time – buy things for future use when I find a good deal on them.  With the chicken, I trim it up, put 2-3 breasts per quart freezer bag and put them in the deep freezer in the garage.  (Was using a food sealer until it died!)  Then it dawned on me, not everyone has a deep freezer – we have a chest freezer in the garage and we keep it loaded!  I don’t know what we would do without it!  It has been a huge money (and time) saver for us.  I currently have chicken, beef, two whole turkeys, venison, frozen veggies, and more in it.  SO, i decided to throw out a tip – GET ONE!  Just my words of wisdom for the day.  It is wonderful to be able to stock up when you find a great deal and the freezer part of the fridge just doesn’t hold very much.  They aren’t very expensive and for us it was well worth the cost.

 

Leave a Reply

