Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

Slow cooker tomato chicken January 22, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 9:56 pm

For dinner tonight, I made Slow Cooker Tomato Chicken from allrecipes.com.  I love a meal I can throw in the crock pot in the morning and have dinner pretty much done!  So great!  This was good – my husband commented that it was a little bland but I didn’t think so.  I served it over instant brown rice and then roasted some zucchini as a side dish.  This was a very inexpensive meal!  Chicken was on sale for $1.98 a pound and I used about a pound.  I purchased the tomato sauce on sale for $0.29 and I already had the diced tomatoes but I did see them in a sale ad for $1 (go HERE for a $1 off 4 cans coupon).  For the zucchini, I just diced it up and tossed it with olive oil,  Worcestershire sauce and season salt (click on each for a coupon link). (When you see a word highlighted, it is linked to another site – on the recipes, it will link you to a coupon!!!! Lots of coupons for this one!!)

Ingredients

  • 5 (6 ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – I only used 2 chicken breasts (they were huge though!)
  • 1 (16 ounce) can diced tomatoes with basil – I used plain diced tomatoes and then added about 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 1/2 (10 ounce) package frozen peas – I completely forgot to add the peas, OOPS! 
  • I also added one can of tomato sauce

Directions

  1. Place the chicken breasts in a slow cooker. Stir together the tomatoes, garlic, soy sauce, and dry mustard; pour over the chicken breasts.
  2. Cook on Low 7 hours; stir in peas and cook 1 hour more. I shredded the chicken after it was done cooking. 

 

Leave a Reply

