Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

White Chili January 28, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 6:28 pm

Okay, this is one of those recipes that I am known for – my white chili!  I started with a recipe given to me from a friend and then made it my own.  Here is my version:

White Chili

Ingredients:

Cooking spray

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped onion – I had kids going crazy tonight while I was making it and I totally forgot about the onions and it still turned out great

2 cooked chicken breast halves, diced and/or shredded – I like to do a little bit of both

3 cans (16 oz. each) Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed (I like to smash some of them to make it more of a chili consistency)

1 large can (7 oz.) green chiles

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

1 can (16 oz.) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 Tbsp. chili powder – I prefer Tone’s chili powder (I always get the giant size at Sam’s) – some chili powders have almost a sweetness to them which I don’t like, Tone’s does not

1 tsp. (to 1 Tbsp.) cumin

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Spray Dutch oven with cooking spray – saute onions and garlic until onions are clear.

2. Add remaining ingredients and cook on medium heat for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.

The boys and I like to eat our chili with Fritos and cheese.  My husband likes crackers and hot sauce in his.  To each his own. 

 

One Response to “White Chili”

  1. Marsha Retherford Says:

    I saw your site when I was looking for something else, but this page was one of the first sites listed in Google, your blog must be enormously popular! Keep up the awesome job!


Leave a Reply

