Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

One of my all time favorite cakes! February 17, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 10:08 pm

I made one of my all time favorite cakes tonight so thought I would share the recipe.  I clipped it from a magazine a long time back and couldn’t find the exact one online but this is the closest one I could find.  I will show the differences in red.  If you like carrot cake, you should love this one.  It reminds me of a carrot cake (minus the carrots :-)) but it is much easier to make!  It is also low fat – although it is high in sugar.  Give it a try – you’ll love it!

Hawaiian Wedding Cake I from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar (my recipes calls for two although I never add all of it)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda (2 teaspoons)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple with juice
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup flaked coconut (1 cup)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 9 x 13 inch pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mix sugar, soda, and flour by hand. Mix in eggs, pineapple with juice. Stir in nuts, and coconut. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes. Cool on wire racks.

Top with cream cheese icing (don’t get lazy on me, make it from scratch – you’ll be happy you did!!).  I use 1 box low-fat cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and about 3 cups of powdered sugar to make mine.  I keep it in the fridge since it has the cream cheese icing.  I like to bake the cake in two round pans (take 5-10 minutes off the time) so I can stack them with icing in the middle!  I like to sprinkle some chopped up walnuts around the edge to make it look nice. 

YUMMMMM!!

 

 

2 Responses to “One of my all time favorite cakes!”

  1. JaLynn Says:

    YUMMY!! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

