Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

BBQ Buffalo Wings February 21, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Detra @ 1:18 pm

So what man doesn’t love buffalo wings, but wow they can be expensive!  My husband craves them all the time but it just kills me to shell out the money to get them at a restaurant.  SO, he has started making his own and he loves them.  I have asked him to share them with you so here is my first guest post – by my hubby!  Note that he purchased a package of wings that had been marked down at the store with the tag that says use or freeze by today (another way to save money on meat). 

Over the last year or so I had tried several different wing recipes from the internet but none of them seemed to be exactly what I wanted. I finally decided to sit down and take bits and pieces from different recipes and combine them to make my own recipe. I really like the hotness of traditional wings, but I also like the sweetness of BBQ wings….. so, I decided to combine the two. Another nice thing about this recipe is that you should have all of the ingredients already so you don’t have to purchase a lot of extras. I will also tell you that I like to bake my wings  rather than fry them.

Start by cutting the wing pieces into the “drummets”. This involves cutting the tip off of the wing at the last joint and discarding it, and then separating the remaining wing at the joint where the wing bends. When you are finished you will have a piece that looks like a tiny drumstick and another piece that is slender with two bones. So each full wing that you start with makes two traditional buffalo wings to cook with.

Once you have all of your wings separated, pat them dry with paper towels and set them aside for a few minutes to get the cooking rack ready. I use a cooling rack stacked on top of a jelly roll pan so that it suspends the wings and allows the excess grease to drip down. Place the wing sections out on the rack, prepare the spices and sauces and preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Season both sides of the wings with equal parts cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I don’t use a lot at this point because I rely more on the seasonings in the sauces. Before placing the wings in the oven use a basting brush and baste each wing with your favorite brand of Tabasco sauce. Bake the wings for 20 minutes. Then flip the wings, baste again with Tabasco sauce, and cook for another 20 minutes. This really gets the sauce baked into the meat. While the wings are baking combine these ingredients for the spicy BBQ Buffalo sauce:

1 cup BBQ sauce

1/4 cup Tabasco sauce

1/4 cup honey

2 tablespoons butter (melted)

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

When the wings are done cooking baste one side of the wings with the Spicy BBQ Buffalo sauce and bake for an additional 5-7 minutes. Flip the wings, baste again, and cook for another 5-7 minutes. These wings are sweet, spicy and VERY messy…..but quite delicious and well worth the effort!!! 

 

Leave a Reply

