Recipes for Great Living (on a Budget)

Helping others save money, eat well, and live a great life!

Goal this week March 1, 2010

Filed under: General — Detra @ 10:02 pm

I have talked about stocking up and it is a great thing to do, but my stockpile is starting to take over!  🙂  It’s a good problem to have though, I must admit!!  So in order to keep stockpiling, I need to use up some of what I have.  My goal for this week is to make meals using what I have on hand.  Tonight, I was able to make my tortilla soup (recipe in an earlier post) – I had everything on hand thanks to coupons and sales.  I even had the chips and shredded cheese to serve in it.   Yesterday we had leftover smoked turkey from Christmas – I had it out in the deep freezer.  With a little barbeque sauce added to it, it was yummy stuff!  Served it with broiled red potatoes and asparagus (it was on sale this week and I have been craving it!).  Saturday night we had T-bone steaks (from the deep freezer – we went in on having a cow processed last year), mashed potatoes, and steamed broccoli.  I am curious to see how long I can keep this up!

Check your cupboards, your freezer, and your fridge and see what you can make without making a trip to the store.  I would love to hear what you were able to make.

 

Leave a Reply

